The Gamble of Life – A Poem

I tossed a coin to tell me whether marriage or career…
It landed on its side and rolled the way of a pariah.
It rolled whilst I was soul searching.
It rolled where there was strife.
It rolled unto a pauper’s laps, whose luck had just gone rife.

The outré looked up solemnly,
And clutched upon my tin.
He studied it with a mastered grin,
And returned it willingly.
“If your problems need a golden flip…
If your losses keep no score.
If your love and life you are fighting for,
Then my friend, you’re still a boss.

“Don’t throw your fortunes up in arms
Against a grateful wind.
The levels you so much desire,
Will make a beggar blink.
Enough with bleating from a wishful heart,
Enough whilst the Fates must think.
Enough of the greed called motivation,
When your heart would rather sing.”

I walked away that hot afternoon,
A beggar’s protégé.
I wondered how he read me well,
I wondered why he prayed.
I should have left that coin with him,
I should have made his day.
I should have known I was talking to…
A phantom or a fey.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑